Organizational Structure

During 1964, Govt. of Bihar created a separate and independent department called Mines & Geology to cater to activities related to mining based on availability of minerals across the state. At that time, there were two wings named as Mining and Minerals were operational under it. Later on as the responsibilities increased along with volume of work, two directorates called Directorate of Mining and Directorate of Geology came in existence in 1971.

After reorganization of the state in 2006, the department and its directorate were reconstituted. Directorate of Mining and the Directorate of Geology were brought together as Directorate of Mining & Geology. Local/regional offices under the Directorate of Geology were done away with and based on the revenue from minerals, offices at Divisional and District level were organized in the following manner -

  • Instead of independent offices, following districts have Mine Inspectors placed under the Collector: Araria, Arwal, Banka, Begusarai, Bhabhua, Buxar, Darbhanga, Gopalganj, Jehanabad, Katihar, Khagaria, Kishanganj, Madhepura, Madhubani, Motihari, Purnea, Saharsa, Samastipur, Saran, Sheohar, Sitamarhi, Siwan, Supaul and Vaishali.
  • Independent offices exist at Patna, Nalanda, Rohtas, Bhojpur, Gaya, Nawada, Aurangabad, Bettiah, Bhagalpur, Munger, Sheikhpura and Jamui districts.
  • Circle Offices are there at Patna, Magadh, Gaya, Saran, Tirhut, Muzaffarpur, Darbhanga, Kosi, Saharsa, Purnea, Munger and Bhagalpur districts at Divisional-Level.

For state-wide monitoring purposes, there is a post of Director, an Additional Director and three Dy. Directors along with other supporting officers.

Present setup of the department is as follows -

  • Commissioner-cum-Secretary - 1
  • Additional Secretary/Special Secretary - 1
  • Joint Secretary - 1
  • Deputy Secretary - 0
  • Under Secretary - 1
Head-Quarter Circles Independent District Offices
under each Circle
Offices with Collector attached to Circles


Additional Director-1 (Vacant)

Dy. Director (Data-Bank)-1

Dy. Director (HQ)- 1

Dy. Director (Mineral Development)-1

Assistant Director-1

Mineral Development Officers- 8

1. Patna Patna, Nalanda, Rohtas, Bhojpur. Bhabhua (Kaimur), Buxar.
2. Magadh Gaya, Nawada, Aurangabad. Jehanabad, Arwal.
3. Saran - Saran, Siwan, Gopalganj.
4. Tirhut West Champaran (Bettiah), Muzaffarpur. Sitamarhi, Sheohar, West Champaran (Motihari), Vaishali.
5. Darbhanga - Darbhanga, Madhubani, Samastipur.
6. Kosi - Saharsa, Supaul, Madhepura.
7. Purnea - Purnea, Araria, Kishanganj, Katihar.
8. Bhagalpur Bhagalpur. Banka.
9. Munger Munger, Lakhisarai, Sheikhpura, Jamui. Begusarai, Khagaria.